Indian Army

The Indian Army is the world’s second largest army in terms of military personnel. The basic responsibility of the Army is to safeguard the territorial integrity of the nation against external aggressio. In addition, the Army is often required to assist the civil administration during internal security disturbances and in the mainntenance of law and order, in organising relief operations during natural calamities like floods, earthquakes and cyclones and in the maintenance of essential services.
The Indian Army is one of the finest armies in the world. Modernisation and upgradation of Army is a continuous process to keep Armed Forces ready to meet any challenge of tomorrow. It is based on fiver years plans. Focus and core areas of modernisation has been:-
  • Improvement in the Fire Power and increased Mobiliy
  • All Weather Battle Field Surveillance capability
  • Night Fighting capabilities
  • Enhace capability of Special Force
  • Capability for Network Centric Warfare
  • NBC Protection
Army has its headquarters in New Delhi.
It is head by Chief of the Army Staff and assisted by the Vice-Chief of the Army Staff and seven other Principal Staff Officers, namely, two Deputy Chief of Army Staff, Ajutant General, Quarter Master General, Master General of Ordinance, Military Secretary and Engineer-in-Chief. The army has following commands
S.No. Command Headquarter
1 Western command Chandigarh
2 Eastern command Kolkata
3 Northern command 56 APO
4 Southern command Pune
5 Central command Lucknow
6 Army Training Command Shimla
7 South Western Command Jaipur
Each under a General officer Commanding-n-Chief of the rank of a Lieutant-General. The Major Static Formation are divided into Areas, Independent Sub-Areas and sub-areas. Area is commanded by a General Officer Commanding of the rank of a Major General and an Independent Sub-Area and sub-area by a Brigadier.
Indian army is divided broadly into two main categories:-
  1. Arms
  2. Services
Indian Army consists of following ranks:-
  1. General
  2. Lt. General
  3. Major General
  4. Brigadier
  5. Colonel
  6. Lt. Colonel
  7. Major
  8. Captain
  9. Lieutenant
Following are the Military Training Centers in India.
Military Training Centers Place
National Defence Academy Khadakvasla (Pune, Maharashtra)
Indian Military Academy Dehra Dun (Uttaranchal)
Rashtriya Indian Military College Dehra Dun (Uttaranchal)
National Defence College New Delhi
Defence Services Staff College Welliington
Armed Forces Medical College Pune (Maharashtra)
Officer’s Training School Chennai (Tamil Nadu)
College of Combat, Mhow (Army War College) Armoured Corps Centre and School Deolali
College of Military Engineering Kirkee (Pune) (Maharashtra)
Military College of Telecommunications Engineering Secunderabad (Andhra Pradesh)
Army Cadet College Dehra Dun (Uttaranchal)
College of Material Management Jabalpur (Madhya Pradesh)
High Altitude Warfare School Gulmarg (J & K)
Army Service Corps School Bareilly (UP)
EME School Secunderabad (Andhra Pradesh)
Millitary College of Electronics and Mechnical Engineering, Remount and veterinary Corps Centre and School Merrut (UP)
Army Educational Corps Training School and Depot Pune (Maharashtra)
Corpse of Military Police Centre and School Bengaluru (Karnataka)
Army School of Physical Training Pune (Maharashtra)
Army/Air Transport Support School Agra (UP)
Army Clerk Training School Aurangabad (Maharashtra)
Army School of Mechanical Transport Bengaluru (Karnataka)
Counter Insurgency and Jungle Warfare School Vairengte
Institution of Nation Integration Pune (Maharshtra)
This entry was posted in , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a reply